Transformation of energy

Formula to convert Fahrenheit to Celsius?

Formula to convert Fahrenheit to Celsius?

The formula for converting degrees Fahrenheit to degrees Celsius is as follows:

t c = (t f - 32) × 5/9


  • t c is the temperature expressed in degrees Celsius (ºC).

  • t f is the temperature expressed in degrees Fahrenheit (ºF).

The Celsius and Fahrenheit scales are both thermometric scales, that is, they are used to measure and indicate temperature.

What are degrees Celsius?

The degree Celsius is a widely used temperature unit that is accepted in the International System of Units as an accessory unit together. The basic unit for measuring temperature according to the International System of Units is the kelvin.

The degree Celsius is named after the Swedish scientist Anders Celsius, who proposed a new scale for measuring temperature in 1742.

The original definition of Celsius depended on the standard atmospheric pressure definition, because both the boiling point of water and the melting temperature of ice depend on this parameter.

Initially, Anders Celsius took the boiling point of water as zero and the freezing point of water as one hundred degrees. Later, after the death of Celsius, his contemporaries and compatriots, the botanist Karl Linnaeus and the astronomer Morten Stremer, used this scale in reverse (they began to take the temperature of ice melting at zero degrees, and the boiling point of water at 100 degrees.In this way, the scale is used to this day.

Degrees Celsius are also called degrees Celsius, since there are 100 degrees between the freezing point and the boiling point of water.

To date, the Celsius scale is the most widely used in Europe and in scientific documents.

Fahrenheit scale

The Fahrenheit scale is used in Anglo-Saxon countries and was introduced by the German physicist DG Fahrenheit (1686-1736). As "zero" on the scale, he chose the lowest temperature he could get in his laboratory and 96 degrees as the body temperature of a healthy human subject.

On this scale, the freezing point of water is 32 degrees Fahrenheit or (32 degrees Fahrenheit), while the boiling point is 212 degrees, thus dividing the two extremes by 180 degrees.

The unit of this scale, the degree Fahrenheit is five ninth parts of a degree Celsius.

Fahrenheit devised its division in 1724, before Anders Celsius, who defined the temperature division in degrees Celsius eighteen years later. Fahrenheit based its temperature scale on earlier work by Ole Christensen Rømer, who developed the Rømer scale in 1701.

The Fahrenheit scale is officially used in five countries. These are the Bahamas, Belize, the Cayman Islands, Palau, and the United States. Furthermore, this unit is also used unofficially by the older generation of people in the UK, Australia, South Africa, Canada, Ireland, India and Jamaica, because this scale was also used in these countries in the past. In other countries, the temperature is expressed in degrees Celsius.

Publication Date: November 26, 2021
Last Revision: November 26, 2021